STATE OF THE ART

YOUR TASK

The State of the Art needs to be regularly updated and has an impact on important processes in the life cycle of a Medical Device, such as Risk Management, Clinical Evaluation and Post-Market Surveillance. During the State of the Art Evaluation safety and performance parameters and acceptance thresholds are established.

YOUR NEEDS

We focus on your demands.

Do you want to know if your Device is in line with the State of the Art?

 

What are your devices’ performance and safety parameters based on the State of the Art?

Are you looking for external know-how and independent expertise?

Do you aim to benefit from a comprehensive State of the Art Evaluation during early product development?

 

What are similar products and medical alternatives to your device and what is there safety and performance profile?

YOUR BENEFITS

The State of the Art Evaluation is essential for established products as well as for products under development. It identifies risks and benefits of similar devices and medical alternatives. The State of the Art Evaluation provides input for the Risk Management, for PMS and is the basis for the Clinical Evaluation. A strong State of the Art Evaluation is the foundation of a successful CE certification.

STATE OF THE ART AT A GLANCE

Depending on your needs, the State of the Art Evaluation can be part of our Clinical Evaluation activities or performed separately.

1

Projekt Kick-off

Together we define the objectives of the State of the Art Evaluation. We ensure that timelines are met and the evaluation is completed within your deadlines. The State of the Art Evaluation is performed in close connection with the other activities (Clinical Evaluation, Clinical Investigation, Risk Management).

2

Data identification

We identify all data relevant for the State of the Art, including the medical field of your Device and associated risks, alternative treatment options and data from similar Devices to derive safety and performance outcome parameters. We fully document our database searches.

3

Data analysis

The collected data is evaluated with regard to relevant safety and performance parameters. For this purpose, data from similar Medical Devices and existing alternative treatment or diagnostic options are scrutinized.

4

Determination of the parameters

Based on the analyzed data, parameters for the evaluation of your Medical Device will be established. If the data are solid, these can be quantitative and serve as a benchmark for your product. The determination of parameters will help to determine endpoints to be investigated and risk acceptance thresholds to be set.

5

State of the Art Evaluation (SotA)

Depending on your processes, the comprehensive State of the Art Evaluation serves as input to your Clinical Evaluation Plan (CEP), Risk Management file, or study design rationale for your Clinical Trial.

6

Further development of the state of the art

The State of the Art Evaluation is dynamic and constantly evolving. Therefore, continuous monitoring of the relevant data is necessary to provide regular up-to-date input to ensure your product remains safe and efficient throughout its complete lifecycle.

Feel free to contact our experts!

Do you have any further needs?

Regular CER Updates

Depending on the classification of your Device, a regular update of the clinical evaluation is necessary: annually for implants and class III devices, or every 1-5 years for other medical devices. We can help you to perform an efficient update of your Clinical Evaluation documentation.

Inquiry

GAP Analysis

Before submitting your application to a Notified Body let us perform a complete GAP analysis of your Clinical Evaluation. We will used an evaluation template based on MDCG 2020-13, similar to Notified Bodies.

Inquiry

CRO procurement

Does your clinical evaluation report conclude that it is necessary to obtain clinical data, to perform clinical investigations or PMCF studies?

Inquiry

STATE OF THE ART

UNSERE AUFGABE

Die Anforderungen an Leistung und klinischem Nutzen eines Medizinproduktes können sich jederzeit verändern. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der State of the Art Analyse, damit Ihr Produkt den aktuellen Erwartungen der klinischen Fachwelt entspricht.

UNSER ZIEL

Wir richten uns nach Ihren Bedürfnissen.


Sie benötigen eine detaillierte Auswertung des allgemein anerkannten State of the Art?


Sie benötigen eine Datenbasis um die State of the Art Anforderungen an Ihr Produkt festzulegen?


Sie möchten Risikoakzeptanz-Grenzen auf Basis des State of the Art festlegen?

  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide
  • slide

Sie suchen nach wissenschaftlicher Unterstützung bei klinischen Fragestellungen?


Sie planen eine klinische Prüfung mit Ihrem Medizinprodukt und müssen ein systematisches Review der vorhandenen Daten vornehmen?


Sie wollen externes Know-how und unabhängige Expertise nutzen?

IHRE VORTEILE

Wir verstehen, dass es keine direkte formale Anforderung für eine State of the Art Bewertung gibt, aber wir haben schon erfolgreich solche Evaluationen implementiert und sehen den Nutzen für Medizinproduktehersteller - sei es um einen Überblick für die Planung einer klinischen Prüfung zu bekommen; die MDR-Anforderungen der klinischen Bewertung zu erfüllen oder als Input für das Risikomanagement.

STATE OF THE ART IM ÜBERBLICK

Ganz nach Ihren Wünschen kann die State of the Art Bewertung Teil unserer Aktivitäten der Klinischen Bewertung sein oder auch separat durchgeführt werden.


  • 1

    Projekt Kick-off

    Zuerst legen wir zusammen mit Ihnen die Ziele der State of the Art Bewertung fest und vereinbaren einen Zeitrahmen, so dass die Bewertung rechtzeitig für eventuelle Deadlines fertiggestellt wird. Die State of the Art Evaluation wird in engem Zusammenhang mit den Ziel-Aktivitäten (klinische Bewertung, klinische Prüfung, Risikomanagement) durchgeführt.

  • 2

    Datenidentifizierung

    Wir identifizieren klinische und generierte, nicht-klinische Daten zu ähnlichen Produkten und medizinischen Alternativen und dokumentieren unsere Datenbankrecherchen vollständig. Auch Sicherheitsdatenbanken werden auf Wunsch in die Recherche mit einbezogen, sollten diese nicht bereits über Ihr PMS-System abgedeckt werden.

  • 3

    Datenanalyse

    Die gesammelten Daten werden hinsichtlich ausgewählter Sicherheits- und Leistungs-Parameter ausgewertet. Dazu werden die Daten von ähnlichen Medizinprodukten und vorhandenen alternativen Behandlungs- oder Diagnosemöglichkeiten unter die Lupe genommen.

  • 4

    Festlegung der Parameter

    Auf Basis der analysierten Daten sollen Parameter zur Bewertung Ihres Medizinproduktes erarbeitet werden. Bei solider Datenlagen können diese quantitativ sein und als Maßstab für Ihr Produkt dienen. Für klinische Prüfungen helfen die Parameter dabei herauszufinden welche Endpunkte untersucht werden sollten. Für das Risikomanagement können die Risikoakzeptanzgrenzen auf Basis der Daten festgelegt werden.

  • 5

    State of the Art Evaluation (SotA)

    Die State of the Art Bewertung kann je nach Ihren Prozessen als Input für den klinischen Bewertungsplan (CEP), den Risikomanagement Plan oder die Begründung des Studiendesigns Ihrer klinischen Prüfung dienen.

  • 6

    Weiterentwicklung des State of the Art

    Der State of the Art oder Stand der Technik ist dynamisch und entwickelt sich immer weiter. Daher ist ein kontinuierliches Monitoring der relevanten Daten erforderlich um regelmäßig aktuellen Input für Ihre Prozesse zu liefern.


Kontaktieren Sie unsere Experten


Was können wir sonst noch für Sie tun?


  • Regelmäßige CER Updates

    Je nach Risikoklasse helfen wir Ihnen bei der geforderten Aktualisierung ihrer Klinischen Bewertung – sei es jährlich für Implantate oder Klasse III Produkte, oder alle 1-5 Jahre für Ihre anderen Medizinprodukte.

    Anfrage


  • GAP-Analyse

    Wir prüfen Ihre Klinische Bewertung auf Herz und Nieren. Gerne verwenden wir Ihre Templates dazu oder greifen auf unsere bewährten Vorlagen zurück.

    Anfrage


  • CRO-Vermittlung

    Klinische Prüfung notwendig – aber wer ist der richtige Partner für die Durchführung? Wir helfen Ihnen bei der Auswahl eines geeigneten CROs und unterstützen Sie während der klinischen Prüfung mit Rat und Tat.

    Anfrage